Why Being “Just” A Mom Is Not Enough

Please don’t get me wrong. Being a stay at home mom is enough for me, but in being a mom it’s not all about me. It’s about my kids, and to be the best for them as far as I’m concerned, means being everything I ever wanted to be.

Let me explain. I want my kids to see me and my husband living our dreams. That doesn’t mean getting home at 9pm and never actually spending time with them. Before I got pregnant with my first child in 2010 I wanted to be a FBI Agent. No joke. When that double line appeared my dreams changed. I wanted to be a stay at home mom. I still do (As I sit in the Cafe at work trying to get a bit of writing done before I go home to my little darlings). However, when I was young I saw both my parents working jobs they hated and all I ever heard when expressing my dreams was not “You can do it!” It was “How much money does it make?” And “How can you make money doing that?” Both practical questions but to my young ears it meant it was a bad idea and I would never make it in the world. As a result I want to show my kids they CAN.

I will not only support them and find ways to make their dreams come true but I will show them how by being a published author, and a literary agent and by selling paintings and by painting murals in nurseries and whatever else I come across. By being successful with a degree in Fine Arts, yeah that’s right Fine Arts!

I will also be following in my Best Friends shoes and fulfilling a life long dream or playing in the dirt by joining an Archeology program for the summer. Why? Because when I was five I saw Jurassic Park and have wanted to give it a shot ever since. Why not? Maybe it will be for me I don’t know but I intend to find out.

I want to show my kids that though they are my world, you only live once, so do it all. And I can do it all while being home with them. Being their Mom and reading them bedtime stories and teaching them. I don’t just want them to live in this world, I want them to be a part of this world. In whatever way makes them happy. Weather that’s living in NH for the rest of their lives being a Kung Fu Instructor or if it’s by joining the military or going to school to get a degree. I do not want them to think for one second that they cannot be whatever they want to be.

That is why being “Just” a stay at home mom is not enough for me. That’s not to say that you can’t show your kids how to follow their dreams as “Just” a stay at home mom, but for my family, I need them to see it. Too many generations sat idly in jobs they hated thinking that for whatever reason they couldn’t. My kids will see it. Breath it. Know it.

PS I want to give a quick shout out to my Mamma who is an inspiration to me as she pursues a nursing career and to my Daddy who has started his own business. I’m 100% sure he enjoys what he’s doing but I do know he did it and it’s not easy. Love you both.

Leave a Reply

