5 Reasons You Should Be Having A Family Game Night

1. Happy Childhood Memories

As a child when we went on vacation in Maine, we would all play phase 10. Every single night. It may sound a little repetitive and boring but those nights were, and remain, some of the best times of my life. We had so much fun. I still remember some of the jokes and the all around sense of happiness whether I won or lost.

2. Everyone can be included

If you have game night every Friday as we do, let a new person pick the game every week. Yes, this does mean that every now and again you will have to play one of those never-ending strategy games but it is worth it to make sure everyone is included. It would seem that every family has at least one Risk lover. I will never forget one game of risk in Maine, my brother did not like card games, my cousin had one lonely soldier in Australia so we let her live. She ended up winning the game.

3. You can form it to fit your Family

When my husband first suggested Family Game Night it was centered around the PS3 and Xbox. Soon after that we started looking into old board games like LIFE, Monopoly, and Clue. Risk also of course. Clue is my personal favorite. We had so much fun with Clue I am constantly trying to get people over to play it.

I am also attempting to start improv at family game night. You know like Whose Line Is It Anyway?  I really hope this takes because improv is a great way to loosen up and just have fun while using your imagination.

4. It’s not just for immediate Family

We started with my sister in-law two weeks ago. The following week we were able to get my other sister in-law and her boyfriend to play and now this week my third and final sister in-law will be here tonight as well as my mother in-law! We almost have a complete set! I have also invited a few friends.

TIP: If you end up with more players that a game allows make teams! The more the merrier!!

It’s good inexpensive fun!

We don’t have a whole lot of money to spend on non essentials. This provides us with a whole lot of fun for a relatively low dollar amount. If you are hosting you can feed a lot of people with spaghetti and sauce! If you are really strapped you can ask people bring something with them and make it a pot luck kind of thing!

Games can be pricey. We really lucked out because my Mother in-law had most of the games from when my husband was young. (Also vintage Clue, way cooler than the new one! The pieces were actual people not just lame little pegs!) We did buy Monopoly and LIFE and over the next few months I will be collecting Phase 10 and Skipbo. There are also lots of games you can play with an ordinary deck of cards! Google it if you get stuck on Go Fish!

Hopefully this has helped you decide Family Game night is something you can do at your house. Slowly collect games and just have fun with it! That is what it’s all about after all.

Leave a Reply

